breakfast of (potential) champions.

So it’s not 2013 yet, but I’ve started my “resolution” early because I’m not a huge fan of New Year’s anyway; plus I could do with the few extra days to get myself into the healthy living lifestyle once more.

Last year, around this time of year, I watched a documentary where some nutritionists had a two groups of army men and fed them exactly the same – the key difference between the groups was that one group ate the food in it’s regular solid form, the other ate the food in a liquidized form; the first control group also had extra water to compensate for the water used in the liquidation process. The experiment was to determine which would keep you and your stomach satisfied  for longer. I forget the actual specific result, but the crux of it was that liquidised food keeps you fuller for longer.

Now I have admit, I cannot function in the morning without my breakfast. On a normal day it consists of a bowl of bran flakes and a freshly ground cup of coffee with 2 liberal sized scoops of vanilla sugar in it. Not the world’s unhealthiest breakfast, but not the most nutritional either. So as part of my health kick and training for the Marathon de Paris I have decided to mix up my breakfast and try to increase my intake of ‘slow release energy’ to keep me fuller for longer and overall healthier.

I introduce to you my breakfast of (potential) champions; the idea is that it’ll keep you fuller for longer with all its slow release energy keeping you concentrated on whatever it may be rather than having your mind stray towards food at about 11am.

Ingredients

250ml unsweetended soy milk (or skimmed milk; I’ve got an intolerance to dairy)
1 ripe banana
6 dried dates
35g oats
1 tablespoon of honey
1/4 teaspoon of ground cinnamon (optional; but I love cinnamon)

Method

  1. Throw (not literally folks) all the ingredients into a blender and blend for a few minutes until smooth (just make sure you’ve not forgotten to put the rubber seal back onto the bottom of the blender before pouring the milk in!).
  2. Pour into a glass and enjoy!

BoPC_method

Well that was my easiest recipe yet, I do think!

Along side this for breakfast I’m also going to be trying to drink 750ml (25fl oz) of water before I leave for work every day as I just do not drink enough water throughout the day and I keep on getting headaches which I am attributing to this. Over the course of the day I now aim to drink 3 of these totaling 2.25L (76fl oz) of water a day; I think initially I may be visiting to loo much more often! Also taking advice from my sister I’m going to start taking multivitamins in the morning as I prepare this smoothie, just to try to keep my immune system up and running and stop myself getting ill!

BoPC

So that’s it folks, my breakfast of (potential) champions. Start your day like me and aim to be a champion every day!

One thought on “breakfast of (potential) champions.

Leave a Reply

